Sheer Exhaustion

In 2014, when Conrad was almost 18 months old, I was diagnosed with hypothyroidism. It helped explain why some days I couldn’t seem to get enough sleep to function, and also cleared up some patchy skin that started in my armpits and had spread down my stomach, as well as other things. Eventually all my symptoms leveled out and I felt fairly normal. 

In the last year or so, there were plenty of days where I wondered why I was even taking medicine for it. Days like today remind me why I’m on it in the first place. Clothes that fit last week suddenly won’t button closed. I have to strategically brush my hair to hide new bald spots that appeared overnight. And the exhaustion! You don’t know tired until you’ve experience hypothyroid tired. My brain is so foggy and my steps are so sluggish, I’m barely functioning. I’m a zombie. 

Maybe one day I won’t have to take a daily pill, but until then I guess if I want more good days than bad then I guess I’ll keep taking it. 

Leave a Reply

